Issue 2, May 4, 2015

Noxious Weeds

The State of Illinois has two "legal" lists of problematic plants that require attention -- Noxious Weeds and Exotic Plants.

The Illinois Noxious Weed Law, set into Illinois Administrative Code, lists 10 weeds that must be controlled on property owned or managed.  These weeds have detrimental effects on public health, agricultural crop production, or animal production.  This law is under the direction of the Director of the IL Department of Agriculture.  Most counties in Illinois have a designated Weed Commissioner for local control authority.

Weeds on this list include Common Ragweed (Ambrosia artemisiifolia), Giant Ragweed (Ambrosia trifida), Marijuana (Cannabis sativa), Musk Thistle (Carduus nutans), Canada Thistle (Cirsium arvense), Kudzu (Pueraria montana, P. lobata), Perennial Sowthistle (Sonchus arvensis), and various sorghums including Johnsongrass (Sorghum halepense) and Columbus grass (Sorghum almum).

Musk thistle.

The two ragweeds need only to be controlled within the corporate limits of cities, towns and municipalities.  All other weeds on the list must be controlled anywhere in Illinois.

Noxious weeds must be controlled so they don't produce seeds or any other means for propagating, or totally eradicated using legal means.

It should be noted these are outdoor-grown weeds.  That's important now with one of the weeds.

More information on the IL Noxious Weed Law can be found at: (David Robson)

David Robson

Return to table of contents